Board of Governors

At the top of the organisational chart of the Institute is the Board of Governors. The governance of the Institute and the general direction of its affairs are vested in the Board of Governors consisting of a Chairman, the Director-General and nine other members. Apart from its responsibility for policy and the general direction of the affairs of the Institute, the Board has the specific responsibility to consider and approve the following:

  1. A long-range plan of activities for the Institute;
  2. The programme of studies and research to be undertaken by The Institute;
  3. The annual budget of the Institute;
  4. The investment plans of the Institute;
  5. An annual report to be submitted to the President on the activities of the Institute and its administration, including audited accounts for the preceeding year.

Between 1979 and 2008, the Institute has had six Boards of Governors chaired respectively by:

  • Chief S.O. Adebo, CFR (1979-82)
  • Mr. S.O. Wey (Dec.1982- Feb. 1983)
  • Chief M.O. Ani, (April 1983-1985)
  • Major-General IBM Haruna (Rtd) (1985-1993)
  • Major-General GO Ejiga (Rtd) (1993-1994)
  • Dr. Sylvester Ugoh (2002-2004)
  • Gen. Salihu Ibrahim (Rtd) (2004-2007).

Board of Governor's

Maj. Gen Paul Ufuoma Omu (rtd) OFR,rcds


  • Prof. M.K. Abubakar (Hon Minister of Science & Technology)
  • Air Chief Marshal OO Petinrin, Dss, Psc(+), CFR (Chief of Defence Staff)
  • Prof. Muhammad Dahiru Suleiman
  • Chief Assam Ekanem Assam, SAN
  • Maj Gen Alwali Jauji Kazir (rtd), CFR
  • Prince Julius A. Adelusi-Adeluyi, OFR,mni
  • Dr Mrs Cecilia Unoma Okafor
  • Dr Mohammed S. Abdulraham, OON
  • Professor Tijjani Muhammad-Bande